Sweetsalt – Toluca Lake

10218 Riverside Dr
Los Angeles, CA 91602
(818) 509-7790

Home

Rating: Four Stars

I enjoyed my first dining experience at Sweetsalt and plan to return to try other menu items. Sweet Salt complitments the Toluca Lake area perfectly. The restaurant has a really nice vibe to it though it can get a little loud in the dining room when full which it was the day I ate here, and if you are unlucky to score the tables right by the entrance, you deal with folks standing in line to order food watching you dine and of course the door opening and closing constantly which on cold days probably isn’t exciting. Knock off a star for logistics, but I guess there’s only so much you can do.

On to the food. It was delicious. After reading so many reviews for the short rib roll, what else could I try first? I ordered the sandwich which many complained was small though I thought it was just the right size for a lunch portion and wonder what kind of expectations people have for sandwich size?! The rib was good as was the roll and the goat cheese. My opinion, I’d skip putting the arugala on there. The sandwich already comes with a side salad that is really good, why put even more on the sandwich?

I also tried the macaroons as I’ve become a bigger and bigger fan. They are quite large in comparison to others I’ve had. The taste is right, but they sort of fell apart after taking a bite. I don’t think that’s ever happened to me with a macaroon before. I had the vanilla bean which was a minty green color. I also like the variety of desserts they had and that they bake them in house.

I really look forward to my next visit and trying some of the other sandwiches and desserts on the menu. A really great place to grab lunch and catch up with a friend.

Leave a comment